Today I learned to “Sit and Spin”

Well, at least I got the gist, I think. I bought a drop spindle and some roving and got started spinning. I have a long way to go, but I am absolutely hooked! I had to force myself to put the spindle down to get supper started. I’ve been thinking about it for a while, but I caught the “spinning 101” episode of “Knitty Gritty” and that was it. I had to get started. New joy. I dream of one day going from sheep to sweater and going to elementary schools to teach the kids about it. I’m visiting a home economics class in Lebanon, TN on Tuesday to talk to the students about knitting and the fiber arts. I can’t believe the joy I get from yarn.

4 Comments

Filed under Spinning

4 responses to “Today I learned to “Sit and Spin”

  1. I just bought a drop spindle and some roving as well, but I’m not having much luck on my own so far. Thankfully my LYS has a drop spindle class tomorrow 🙂

    Good luck!

    – Nicole

  2. Thanks Denelle for stopping by my blog.
    Teaching or simply inspiring the children with regards to the fibre arts is a real treat. I’ve done the fleece through spinning wheel to needle demo for several kindergarten classes and other grades too who are doing a pioneer day unit. It really ties in well.
    All the best with the school visit!

  3. I got a wheel for my birthday 2 weeks ago. I am addicted. I’m going in to my daughter’s school to teach a lesson/demonstration about spinning/knitting for their next unit of inquiry and I can’t wait. At my own school, I’m going to teach knitting during the afternoon of the PSSA’s and the kids are getting so excited. Fiber is so cool! Good luck to you and enjoy!

  4. Good for you! Spinning is a wonderfull addition to Knitting. A drop spindle is a great tool, not just to learn on but even if you go to a wheel, it’s great to keep going on a spindle if you have to go somewhere. I use mine through out the day at work. Then I spin on the wheel at night. By the end of the week I have almost twice the fiber done when I add the spindled yarn to what’s on the wheel.
    Congrats and keep on spinning!

Leave a Reply

